Advisory Committee


Henry A. Wallace and Franklin D. Roosevelt

"Freedom in a grown-up world is different from freedom in a pioneer world. As a nation matures, the traffic inevitably gets denser, and you need more traffic lights."

--H. A. Wallace

Wallace Chair Advisory Committee

In accordance with the memorandum of understanding establishing the H.A. Wallace Chair for Sustainable Agriculture, members of an advisory committee are appointed by the Dean of the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences and serve three- to five-year terms. The committee includes one representative from (1) the Wallace Genetic Foundation, (2) DuPont Pioneer, (3) the advisory board of the Leopold Center for Sustainable Agriculture, and (4) Practical Farmers of Iowa, and five additional members representing academic, agricultural, societal, and environmental interests. The committee assesses the direction and future needs of the Wallace Chair, and provides support to the chair and advice to the Dean of the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences.

Current Members

Nathan Anderson, farmer and Practical Farmers of Iowa board member, Aurelia, IA

John Arbuckle, vice president, DuPont Pioneer, Johnston, IA

Mac Ehrhardt, president, Albert Lea Seed, Albert Lea, MN

Robert Fleming, landscape architect and Wallace Genetic Foundation representative, Philadelphia, PA

Elizabeth Garst, farm owner and Whiterock Conservancy board member, Coon Rapids, IA

Gail Hickenbottom, farm owner and Leopold Center board member, West Des Moines, IA

Stephen Jones, professor, Washington State University, Burlington, WA

Aaron Heley Lehman, farmer and Iowa Farmers Union president, Polk City, IA

Jennifer Terry, executive director, Iowa Environmental Council, Des Moines, IA